I had a couple of requests from people asking about my letters I wrote to Devin. So here is a list of 150 different letter topics for you to write. Keep in mind, these are meant to be read when you two are apart, at a milestone in your relationship, or when you know your written words will be better than your verbal ones.

The majority of my letters were 2-4 pages, but a couple of them could have fit on an index card. I doodled on some of the envelopes, and inside my letters. When I was finished, I bought a small set of plastic drawers (perhaps 18 inches tall and a foot long and a foot wide?) to keep the letters in, and I gave Devin my favorite version of the Bible with his name engraved, which I put in the bottom drawer. I put in pens and highlighters with it, and almost all my letters have a verse or two to look up that pertains to the letter.

image

Write from your heart, and don’t be too cheesy. Say what you need or want to say. And I guarantee, your person will love it, and love you more for it. Here’s the list:

Open When You…. (1)

  • first get these

Negative Days (64)

  • Are embarrassed
  • Need a Hug
  • need a pick me up
  • need reassurance
  • are sad
  • need to laugh
  • are stressed
  • want to break up
  • don’t feel loved
  • have some major road rage
  • worry over the future
  • can’t sleep
  • miss me
  • we fight & it’s my fault
  • we fight & it’s your fault
  • feel distant
  • are going to miss an important holiday
  • can’t get it together
  • are headed out on the road
  • don’t trust God
  • get upset over something small
  • get upset over something large
  • need to rant
  • you’re sick
  • you don’t want to get out of bed
  • your phone is dead
  • your truck won’t start & you’re stuck
  • want to hit someone
  • feel confused
  • feel worthless
  • are upset w/ my family
  • are upset w/ your family
  • physically hurt
  • the weather sucks
  • feel jealous
  • you were an @$$ to a stranger
  • I’m a PMSing B
  • I refuse to accept your help
  • you miss a friend
  • you miss a family member
  • need compliments
  • forget an important date
  • want to tell me something
  • I embarrass you
  • embarass me
  • I hurt you
  • you hurt me
  • you break something important to me
  • don’t feel attractive
  •  gain weight
  • don’t know what’s right
  • you smash your finger
  • your ex texts you
  • it’s going to be a long day
  • your paycheck is subpar
  • I’m an emotional train wreck
  • I offend you
  • you see a pretty girl
  • can’t find your #?!%]ing ink pen (doodles & inkpens inside)
  • run out of good music to listen to
  • question our relationship
  • feel greedy
  • need a pep talk

Positive Days (20)

  • Are happy
  • want to reminisce over your childhood
  • want to know more about my childhood
  • want to hear an embarrassing story
  • I fall asleep texting you
  • are making a big purchase
  • are making a small purchase
  • want good scripture to look up in your Bible
  • more good scripture
  • my favorite bible verse, why I love it
  • you lost weight
  • you got a raise
  • I’m in a ridiculous good mood & it makes you happy
  • you get to come home early
  • its a sunny, pretty day
  • you want to know more about me
  • want to show me you love me
  • you’re just excited about life
  • you get really good news
  • you want dumb jokes & doodles
  • more dumb jokes & doodles
  • even more dumb jokes & doodles

Relationship Milestones (34)

  • six month dating anniversary
  • one year dating anniversary
  • you think you want to get engaged
  • want to pick out an engagement ring
  • the night before you propose
  • 1st Big fight
  • 2nd Big fight
  • 3rd Big fight
  • contemplate murdering me 🙂
  • we buy property together
  • the night before our wedding
  • we’ve been living together 3 months
  • my cute quirks are now irritating
  • one year anniversary
  • three year anniversary
  • five year anniversary
  • ten year anniversary
  • twenty year anniversary
  • thirty year anniversary
  • forty year anniversary
  • fifty year anniversary
  • seventy five year anniversary
  • I’m pregnant!
  • I’m pregnant again!
  • Baby Three!
  • Call TLC b/c here comes #4!!
  • want to divorce me
  • I want to divorce you
  • our in laws are coming to stay
  • we just can’t agree on something major (coin included in envelope)
  • we don’t look the young any more
  • I break something very expensive
  • you break something very expensive
  • we need to buy a different vehicle

Just because (31)

  • you’re dressed up nice
  • you’re dressed like a bum
  • its Sunday at 12:12
  • its Monday at 1:11
  • its Tuesday at 2:22
  • its Wednesday at 3:33
  • its Thursday at 4:44
  • its Friday at 5:55
  • its Saturday at 11:11
  • you’re going out with the guys
  • I’m going out with the girls
  • its a thundering night
  • its a foggy morning 
  • you’re in Iowa
  • in Idaho
  • in California
  • on the East Coast
  • by the ocean
  • in Detroit
  • in Texas
  • in Chicago
  • in Las Vegas
  • on the Salt Flats
  • parked in a sketchy parking lot
  • parked w a beautiful view
  • staying in a cheap hotel 
  • staying in an expensive hotel 
  • craving Mexican
  • craving something fried
  • craving something chocolate

There it is! 150 different topics to write for your special person. You’ll probably have to change a few, since this is meant for an over the road truck driver, but hopefully it’ll give you some good ideas. Good luck! 

 

 

 

