I’m starting a new category of my blog, called “Thinking out Loud”. I’m going to be asking random questions about moral dilemmas, and then answer them. The purpose is to provoke thinking, not only for myself, but for my readers. This presents the opportunities to learn more about each other and ourselves, and grow as people.

image

Your character is a tree, and your reputation is merely a shadow. – Benjamin Franklin.

Personally, I place some importance on my reputation- but not as much as my character. I want to be an easygoing, relatively well liked person, but I’m not very concerned about other’s opinions of me for the most part. If you don’t like me because of my personality, the way I dress, or because we have value differences, thats okay. Whats not okay though, is if someone doesn’t like me because I’ve broken my usual character, or they feel like they’ve been treated wrong by me. For me, reputation is a fine line of what should be carefully looked over, and what shouldn’t be thought twice of. ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­

On the other hand though, your reputation can be a crucial element, because it can determine if you get a job, if people trust you, how others will treat not only you, but your family, and it can determine your credibility. So of course it can be important, but don’t get too wrapped up in it. Spend time on your character. Moral of my thoughts: Be the best person you can be, not only for your reputation but to make you be the person you were intended to be. What you do in the dark will always come to light. So think of what you do in the dark as your character, and think of what you others see in the light as your reputation.

What are your thoughts on character vs reputation? Can they be independent of one another? Or are they both irrelevant?

As always, thank you for taking the time to read my blogs & subscribe!

